Snacks in the Sunshine

The good life :)

The good life πŸ™‚

Well hello!

After my last rather solemn post (apologies) I picked up my game and turned things round thankfully, as I was getting bored of feeling upset. As always I achieved this by taking care and pride over what I did, ate and thought. I am doing a juice and dahl cleanse which is going splendidly and I am also practising a lot of yoga.

If we rewind back two years or so I would have been coping very, very differently. It still would have been about food and exercise, but it would not have been in a healthy way. I have just come out the other end of an eating disorder (as much as one can, anyway) and when I was at my most ill I would cope with sadness by regulating every tiny thing about my eating and exercise until I was even more exhausted and unhappy…it wasn’t fun.

However two days ago I turned a real corner! I recovered from my problem with eating by transforming the way I thought about food, and this took place last year, but it is still difficult to change the way you think and I still struggle sometimes. Two days ago, though, I was walking at home on the beach and I saw an extremely thin woman running along the sea. She was so thin her body looked stringy and she had a manic determination in her eyes that I recognized. Her hip bones stuck out of her leggings and her stomach and inner thighs concaved horribly. I felt a kind of sinking feeling in my stomach to look at her, a sadness and empathy, and then I looked to my right where a group of normal, healthy looking people sat having a picnic. A year ago I would have only seen the curves the women had and thought they were frightening or not right, but now I saw that they were beautiful – so much more so than the obviously ill woman running by. I knew in an instant which life I would choose!

I walked home feeling stronger than ever. I am at a healthy weight, I have curves, I eat right, I exercise…life is good! And it’s good to feel that life is good πŸ™‚

This week the sun has been glorious and I’ve been making the most delicious juices to enjoy! Here is a picture of my favourite so far:

Perfection

Perfection

The ginger makes it taste so fresh, and the mango gives it a delicious sweetness

The ginger makes it taste so fresh, and the mango gives it a delicious sweetness

This is made up of:

1 Mango
2 small plums
2 small carrots and their leaves
2 handfuls spinach
2 small beetroot
1 inch ginger
2 celery sticks

It is SO refreshing and tasty I can’t even tell you – you have to go make it yourself πŸ˜€ I’m in love with ginger right now; ginger and strawberries ❀

DSCN6275

Next post I will share my dahl recipe and a homemade facial recipe too, which I hope you enjoy! For now, enjoy the sun and yourself for who you are.

Peace
x

2 thoughts on “Snacks in the Sunshine

Leave a comment