Green Juice is Good for the Soul

London being lovely

London being lovely

The last few days have been very peaceful. Blue skies and sunshine make London a lot more bearable to me, though they also serve to make me long for my island home! The heat at home is a lot less oppressive, I’ve noticed – probably because of the sea breeze. Nevertheless I refuse to complain about any type of sun!

I love the feeling of sun on my skin, but the sun doesn’t quite love me back sometimes and I often get burned if I stay out in it. Up until about a month ago I’ve been using regular sun cream to prevent this, but after reading an article about the harmful chemicals involved in sun cream, deodorant, shampoo and conditioner, I’ve switched brands to natural, homoeopathic versions which have worked a dream and left me glowing! It hasn’t been as hot today but my housemate took this picture of me because she said I looked ‘all vegan’.
Aviary Photo_130476686166403066

Isn’t it interesting that there is a stereotypical look for being vegan?! When I asked her to explain why she said my skin was glowing, my hair was healthy and so did my body overall, which in turn makes me wonder why so many people turn their noses up at the lifestyle choice. I personally have never felt better and I know it is because I have chosen to put good, cruelty-free things into my body.

Here are a few of my favourite things!

My medicine cabinet...and my lucky wooden turtle

My medicine cabinet…and my lucky wooden turtle

The sun block is from the brand ‘yaoh’ and it is made with organic hemp seed oil. It has no harmful ingredients, parabans or unnecessary chemical additives and it works a treat. What’s more it smells lovely and fresh – my friends always comment! There is also my ‘Origins’ GinZeng moisturiser which I alternate with a Neal’s yard one each morning. At night I use the ‘Tiana’ coconut butter to both take off my make-up and moisturise, leaving it on my face, neck and chest for about half an hour before washing my face and applying bio oil. Another summer staple for me are the Pollinosan tablets – an all natural cure for hayfever. Lifesaver! My perfume comes from L’Occitane, sourced with organic, natural ingredients which don’t irritate my skin – the delicious scent is amber and vanilla…so heavenly.

I think becoming vegan has made me mature quite a lot in terms of aesthetic values. Before I would automatically go for the pretty bottles or smells and not stop to look at ingredients or additives, but now I go for the label first. It is the same with food for me – the appearance doesn’t matter, nor even the taste sometimes! Wheatgrass, for example, I should hate. It looks vile and tastes kind of disgusting (in my opinion) BUT I have a shot each morning because it is ridiculously beneficial, so the negatives are cancelled out by a long way.

Another good example of this is green juice! I have found, unexpectedly, that the worse/more mudlike a juice looks, the better it is and the better it tastes! I have been known often to sit in my college’s canteen sipping a jar full of what looks like pond scum with the biggest smile on my face 🙂

For visual effect – here is a picture from today…the recipe will follow. Try it! Don’t be put off by the colour!
DSCN6264

Recipe:

4 small plums
3 small carrots
1 handful spinach
1 handful kale
1 inch ginger
5 stalks celery
1/2 lime

It really is so delicious! The ginger adds a lovely kick, the plums and carrots give it sweetness, and the whole flavour is so fresh and fragrant. You will glow visibly after you’ve drank it! I know I do. Juicing gives us so much nutrition and raw vegetables will make you feel so great if you incorporate them into your daily diet – I promise 🙂

Let me know what you think if you give it a try! Next post will have some natural face-masks and skin treatments that I do regularly and adore.

For now – peace x

Leave a comment